Skip to content

An Invisible War

March 16, 2009

I am a Communications Masters Student in Amsterdam and I have wondered for a long time why the crisis in the Democratic Republic of Congo has received such little media attention.

In fact, ‘little media attention’ is probably an understatement considering the conflict has so far claimed around 5 million lives, making it the largest conflict since the Second World War.  In addition, atrocious human rights violations are a daily occurrence.  And what is being done? How is the global public informed?

I am focusing my thesis on this area in an attempt to discover why this is an invisible war, and I want to open up this blog for two reasons:

1) Stimulate discussion on this specific topic

2) Coordinate the many voices into one space

So we begin: I am going to try and post some ideas and my work almost daily and shall spend the other times harassing people over the internet to interact.

I would love to hear your views, links, and your blogs!

Simon

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 10:31 am

    Well you seem to have discovered my blog post at Notes from underground: Gaza clash of civilizations gets most media coverage, though without much new being published, there’s not much more one can say.

Leave a Reply

